Sheriff Races Develop in Western Oklahoma


April 8, 2024

A race for the sheriff’s position in three local counties has developed after the three day filing period closed on Friday.

According to a press release,

Erick Chief of Police Wes Henry has thrown his hat into the ring and will challenge current Beckham County Sheriff Derek Manning.

In Washita County Russell Stewart and Kevin Rozell both filed their intentions to run for the Sheriff’s position and in Roger Mills County incumbent Brian Smith is being challenged by Darren Atha for Sheriff.

Back in Washita County, Angie Strobel and Kristen Dowell will both run for the County Clerk job. Sue Fletcher and Rusty Bookout have filed their intentions to run for the County Assessor position, and Leo Goeringer and David Gray will square off for the County Commissioner position in district 2.

Two local State Representatives will retain their seats after not drawing opponents last week.

District 55 Rep. Nick Archer (R – Elk City) and District 5 Rep. Anthony Moore (R – Clinton) both filed to retain their seats.

Nationally, Congressman Frank Lucas (R – Cheyenne) filed for re-election to Oklahoma’s Third Congressional District and will be challenged by Darren Hamilton of Fort Supply and Robin Lynn Carder of Sand Springs.

Copyright 2023 Paragon Communications. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.